HFIA 9th Annual Statewide Juried Woodworking Exhibition

Aloha Tower Marketplace Pier 10, September 8-16, 2001

The Jurors

Jere Osgood

Jere Osgood’s work has been exhibited widely and is represented in the permanent collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, the American Craft Museum in New York, the Johnson Collection (Objects USA), the Renwick Collection of the Smithsonian Institution and the Currier Gallery in Manchester New Hampshire. He has had his own studio since 1957, and has been named a Fellow of the American Crafts Council for his outstanding contributions to the field. Osgood says that while his interest includes all periods of furniture, his approach to his own furniture making relies less on tradition than on self-expression. A graduate of the School of American Craftsmen at the Rochester Institute of Technology, Osgood also studied in Denmark. His teaching credits include his alma mater and the Program in Artisanry at Boston University. He has written for Fine Woodworking Magazine, Home Furniture, and his work has been published in American Craft Magazine. Osgood works full time in his studio in Wilton, New Hampshire doing commissions and occasional exhibition pieces.

Greg Northrop

The owner of Fine Art Associates a Honolulu based art consulting firm, Greg Northrop is a member of the Rotating Selection Committee for the State Foundation on Culture and the Arts is on the Art Advisory Committee for the Hawaii Convention Center and is a member of the Board of Directors of both the Hawaii Consortium for the Arts and of Hawaii Craftsmen. He is a past member of the board of both the Honolulu Printmakers and of the Arts Council of Hawaii and has served on the Advisory Boards of both the Amfac Plaza Gallery and Hui Noeau Art Center on Maui. Greg is also the former co-owner of the Downtown Gallery in Honolulu (1970-1980).

Jeffrey Griswold

An attorney with the firm of Lyons Brandt Cook & Hiramatsu, Jeff Griswold is also a woodworker who won awards in HFIA’s woodshows in 1995 and 2000. Jeff is also a member of the board of HFIA and chairs its Legislative Committee.